Home > Dr. UESAKA, Mitsuru Chairperson

Dr. UESAKA, Mitsuru

Dr. UESAKA, Mitsuru

Chairperson, Japan Atomic Energy Commission

 Yoshiaki OKA, Chairman

Dr. UESAKA, Mitsuru, was appointed as the Chairperson on December 16th, 2020, for three year term.
Prior to the appointment as the Chairperson of the Commission, he had been a professor at the University of Tokyo, specializing in nuclear science, engineering and management. He had been engaged in the researches on quantum beam engineering, advanced accelerator development and application to cancer inspection and therapy, nuclear material analysis, construction on-site radio inspection, table-top laser dielectric accelerator development for radiation biology and production of nuclear medicine. He entered academia as an associate professor at the University of Tokyo in 1991, after working as an engineer at IHI Corporation.
He was the President of the Atomic Energy society of Japan (AESJ) from 2016 to2018, the Chairperson of the Panel on Advanced and Novel Accelerators at the International Committee for Future Accelerator (ICFA) from 2007 to 2013, the Chair of the executive committee of the Japan-IAEA Nuclear Energy Management School from 2011 to 2019, a member of the International Nuclear Management Academy (INMA) of the IAEA from 2013 to 2019, and an expert member of the Council for Science and Technology of the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT) from 2007 to 2019. He obtained his Bachelor, Master and Doctor of Engineering from the University of Tokyo.